Call for Papers

The 6th Cross-Border Post Keynesian Conference, June 19-20, 2017, SUNY Buffalo State, Buffalo, NY, USA

New deadline for proposal submissions: April 30, 2017

The Economics and Finance Department at SUNY Buffalo State invites papers and participants for the 2017 Cross-Border Post Keynesian Conference, to be held on June 19-20. Following the tradition of the Conference, which has previously been held in Vermont, Ottawa, Montreal, Buffalo, and Toronto we are encouraging Post Keynesian scholarship. The general theme of the Conference is “Populism, Heterodoxy, and Globalization.” The Conference is also open to all heterodox economic perspectives and topics. The purpose of the conference is to bring academics, financial, business, political and community leaders together to focus on how to make the economy work better for working-class families.

The keynote speaker is Professor John F. Henry, the recipient of the 2017 Veblen-Commons Award from the Association for Evolutionary Economics, Senior Scholar at the Levy Economics Institute, and Professor Emeritus at California State University, Sacramento. Other distinguished participants include: Jan Kregel (Levy Institute, US), L. Randall Wray (Levy Institute, US), Mario Seccareccia (University of Ottawa, Canada), John Smithin (York University, Canada), and Robert Dimand (Brock University, Canada).

Both complete session and individual paper proposals are welcome. Interested contributors are requested to send proposals using the following form ( A complete session proposal should include 3-4 papers and a session chair. We also encourage proposals from graduate students. Business, finance, and community professionals are welcome to organize 3 person panels/roundtables discussing topics linked to “Making the economy work for working–class families.”

The new deadline for proposed papers and sessions is April 30, 2017 (a full paper is not required). The Conference committee will consider all proposals and notify you of acceptance by May 5, 2017.

Other conference information (registration, accommodation, travel, etc.) will be announced through the conference website (

For further information and queries, contact the conference organizing committee at [log in to unmask]

The conference organizing committee: Joelle Leclaire, Tae-Hee Jo, Ted Schmidt, Victor Kasper, Curtis Haynes, Frederick Floss, and Bruce Fisher

SUNY Economics Scientific Committee: Paul Zarembka (University of Buffalo), Alan Haight (SUNY Cortland), Flavia Dantas (SUNY Cortland), Benjamin Wilson (SUNY Cortland), Laura Ebert (SUNY New Paltz), Francisco Martinez (SUNY New Paltz), Mona Ali (SUNY New Paltz), Joelle Leclaire (SUNY Buffalo State), Tae-Hee Jo (SUNY Buffalo State), Curtis Haynes (SUNY Buffalo State), Victor Kasper (SUNY Buffalo State), Ted Schmidt (SUNY Buffalo State), Bill Ganley (SUNY Buffalo State), Susan Davis (SUNY Buffalo State), Bruce Fisher (SUNY Buffalo State).