Fall Conference 2019 – Call for Papers
The University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS

Proposal Submission Deadline: July 1, 2019
Date of Notification: July 16, 2019
Conference Date: Friday and Saturday, September 27-28, 2019

The members of the Midwest Music Research Collective at the University of Kansas would like to extend an invitation to graduate students from any discipline whose research involve music to submit proposals for paper presentations. All proposals will be accepted but special consideration will be given to proposals that address the conference theme of technology and music.

The keynote address will be given by Dr. Jennifer Iverson from the University of Chicago entitled "Liminal Synths: Sonic Pre-Histories and Ubiquitous Experiments."

The conference will also offer a special session geared toward emerging scholars and pedagogues called "Designing for Access in the Classroom" hosted by Dr. Iverson. 

Proposal abstracts should be no longer than 350 words, and may include up to two pages of musical examples. Proposals can be emailed to mmrc -at- ku.edu as an attached word document with the subject line “mmrc-lastnamefirstname.” Files, including examples, should be no larger than 5 MB. The attached file must have no identifying information. Please include in the body of the email your full name, institutional affiliation, and any tech requirements for your presentation (audio, visual, piano, etc.). All presentations will be 20 minutes long with 10 minutes for discussion and questions. 

The deadline for proposals is July 1, 2019. All applicants will be notified of their status by July 16, 2019. Only one submission per applicant is permitted. For abstract submission guidelines and further details, please email mmrc -at- ku.edu or visit our website:


AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:

How to submit a post

Visit the AMS-Announce archive

TO UNSUBSCRIBE, switch to/from Digest mode, change your subscription address, etc.: log in and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce is a free service provided to the musicological community by the American Musicological Society.