[log in to unmask]" v:shapes="Picture_x0020_1" height="90" width="302">


Association for Evolutionary Economics




Board Elections, Veblen-Commons Award, James H. Street Scholar


Nominating Committee – 2016 Board Elections


The Nominating Committee welcomes your nominations for President-Elect and two members of the Board of Directors.   Nominations should include a letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications, willingness to serve and any other useful or relevant supporting documents such as a vita or additional letters of support.  All nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Nominating Committee by May 1, 2015.*  The announcement of final nominees will be made to the general membership after approval by the Board of Directors.  Elections will then be conducted under the direction of the Secretary of AFEE.


Dell Champlin, Committee Chair

[log in to unmask] 


2016 Veblen-Commons Award


Nominations for the Veblen-Commons Award should be sent to the Chair of the Veblen Commons Committee by May 1, 2015.*  Nominations should include a statement of qualifications along with any useful or relevant supporting documents such as letters of support or a vita.  The Chair of the Veblen-Commons Committee will submit the committee’s recommendation to the Board of Directors for approval through the President and Secretary of the Association.


Anne Mayhew, Committee Chair (T)

[log in to unmask]




2016 James H. Street Latin American Scholarship


The Association for Evolutionary Economics invites persons residing in Latin America and working within the tradition of original institutional economics to apply for the 2016 James H. Street Latin American Scholarship. The James H. Street scholar will have the opportunity to present his or her work at the Association’s annual meeting in San Francisco, CA, January 3-5, 2016. The scholarship will include round trip transportation and hotel. The James H. Street scholar will also have the opportunity to have his or her work published in the Association’s journal, Journal of Economic Issues. Specific presentation and publication guidelines will be provided to the winner of the scholarship. A complete application will include a letter of interest, the applicant’s current curriculum vita, and a 200 word abstract of his or her paper. The final paper should be about 5,000 words in length and must be written and presented in English. Applications are due by May 1, 2015.*


To learn more about James H. Street (1915-1988) and his work please see the following papers.

Street, James H. “The Institutionalist Theory of Economic Development.” Journal of Economic Issues v22 n4 (December 1987): 1243-47.


James, Dilmus D. “In Memoriam: James H. Street, 1915-1988.” Journal of Economic Issues v23 n1 (March 1989): 1-6.


The Association for Evolutionary Economics (AFEE) is an international organization of economists and other social scientists devoted to analysis of economics as evolving, socially constructed, and politically governed systems. The intellectual heritage of AFEE is that of the Original Institutional Economics (OIE) created and developed by early twentieth-century economists such as Thorstein Veblen, John R. Commons, and Wesley Mitchell. Over recent decades, this legacy has evolved to address such contemporary issues as:

·       The role of diverse cultures in economic performance.

·       Domestic and international inequalities of income.

·       The roles of social, economic and political power in shaping economic outcomes.

·       Globalization and the increasing weight of multinational corporations in the international economy.

·       The need for expanding use of modern technologies to relieve want.

·       The urgent need for awareness of the impact of new technology on the biosphere. The ways in which economic thought is affected by and affects always changing economy.


See the AFEE website for more information -


Please send application materials for the Street Scholarship to:

Richard V. Adkisson (chair)

[log in to unmask]


T (Trustee)

D (Director)

*  For additional details and full list of committee members, please see Appendix 1 (Committees) of the President’s Letter and relevant by-law passages at


Eric R. Hake

Professor, Economics
Department Chair, Business & Economics
Secretary-Treasurer, Association For Evolutionary Economics

Scholarship.  Character.  Culture.  Service.

Ketner 212, 2300 W. Innes St. Salisbury, NC 28144-2441
704-637-4491 (fax)
[log in to unmask]