Print

Print


Hi Everyone!

At this Darwin Core Hour (DCH): it is VertNet's turn to share what 
happens to museum specimen data when it is shared with them as data 
aggregator.

Please join us in six days for: DCH 7 (Part Three!): The Aggregator's 
Viewpoint - (More Than Vert)Net

When: *Tu**esday, August 29th, 2PM EDT, 3PM (Buenos Aires), 7 PM 
(London), 6 PM UTC (18:00)*
Where: https://idigbio.adobeconnect.com/room

DETAILS: 
https://www.idigbio.org/content/darwin-core-hour-aggregators-viewpoint-more-vertnet

*Presenters (VertNet)**:* John Wieczorek - Information Architect, Museum 
of Vertebrate Zoology, University of California, Berkeley
*Moderators:* Paula Zermoglio, Deborah Paul

Abstract. In this Darwin Core Hour we will follow up in the series on 
aggregator perspectives with a view from VertNet. Though the taxonomic 
scope of VertNet as a biodiversity data aggregator is focused on 
Chordates, VertNet serves a broader biodiversity data mobilization role 
that has no taxonomic or geographic boundaries. As an Associate 
Participant in GBIF, VertNet is also involved in a wide variety of other 
community services, including the development of, promotion of, and 
training on biodiversity data standards and data quality. In this 
webinar we will explore the series of services that VertNet provides, 
such as migration and data quality processes, as well as its unique 
extracting and searching capabilities, which allow content such as trait 
data (e.g., body mass and length) to be sought and retrieved. We will 
discuss VertNet's role in the broader data mobilization framework and 
how that relates to other biodiversity data sharing initiatives.
As always, we encourage people to bring or submit questions and to have 
open discussions in each webinar.

Brought to you by the Darwin Core Hour Team - Connecting Biodiversity 
Data Communities
Deb Paul, et al
PS Check out DCH 7 Parts One and Two (GBIF and iDigBio) 
https://www.idigbio.org/content/darwin-core-hour-aggregators-viewpoint-gbif-and-idigbio
Hints for best Adobe Connect experience: 
https://www.idigbio.org/wiki/index.php/Web_Conferencing
Let us know if you'd like to moderate / present / plan future Darwin 
Core Hours https://tinyurl.com/zja2muz

-- 
-- Upcoming iDigBio Events https://www.idigbio.org/calendar
-- Deborah Paul, iDigBio Digitization and Workforce Training Specialist
iDigBio -- Steering Committee Member, SPNHC Liaison and Member-At-Large, SYNTHESYS3 Representative
Institute for Digital Information, 234 LSB
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida 32306
850-644-6366