ECN Members,

As you will recall from earlier this summer, we are hoping to amend the bylaws to give us greater flexibility to have more than one individual serving as Program Chair to spread the workload across more than one person.  This is in direct relation to a proposal from the Executive Committee to the ECN membership regarding the slate of officers.  The attached draft includes modified language from comments provided by the membership, as well as two important additional items:  1) we wish to give the President authority to create non-elected ad hoc positions (Parlimentarian, Historian/Archivist, etc.) to help cover special needs that might arise that are not covered by existing officers and only for a single term (ending or renewed annually at the ECN annual meeting); and 2) given the focus that ECN has placed in recent years on communication via social media we would like to further empower the Social Media Committee by giving them a seat at the table so we are proposing the creation of a new officer position as Communications Officer that would have full voting privileges and would coordinate the Social Media Committee.  I have highlighted all proposed amendments.  I also attach a copy of the current Bylaws unaltered for your reference.

According to the current bylaws, we are obligated to present amendments for consideration by the ECN membership a minimum of 1 month before calling for a vote to ratify the amendments at the Annual Meeting.  I will also have our webmaster Gino post these amendments to the website.  Additional amendments to the language may be presented at the Annual Meeting should the need arise, but we must meet this obligation for the vote to proceed.  Further, if successful, we would then call for additional nominations from the floor and if there are none confirm the slate of officers presented below as a group (all running unopposed under the newly amended Bylaws).

Slate of Officer Nominees (2017-2019)
President:  Max Barclay, Natural History Museum, London, UK
Vice-President:  Crystal Maier, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, IL, USA
Secretary:  Christy Bills, Utah Museum of Natural History, Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Treasurer:  Patrick Gorring, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
Program Chairs:  Gene Hall, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA; Chris Grinter, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA, USA
Communications Officer:  Isa Betancourt, Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Thank you for your patience as we try to move ECN forward and provide long term stability in terms of personnel and finances.


Floyd W. Shockley (ECN President, for 33 more days…not that I’m keeping track)

Floyd W. Shockley, Ph.D., F.R.E.S.
Collections Manager
Department of Entomology
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
P.O. Box 37012, MRC 165
Washington, DC 20013-7012
Tel (office): 202-633-0982
Fax (office): 202-786-2894
Email:  [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>
Staff Website: