The Temple University Theory, History, and Ethnomusicology Society (THEMUS) invites paper proposals for its seventh annual graduate conference on Saturday, 4 April 2020. Research relating to any fields of music theory, history, and ethnomusicology will be considered. In addition, we welcome proposals on music perception and cognition, jazz and improvisation, and computer applications in music for an afternoon session on Friday, 3 April 2020, which will be dedicated to the late music theorist Dr. Aleck Brinkman. Proposals should be designed for a 20-minute presentation/10-minute discussion format.

Our keynote speakers will be Professor Elizabeth West Marvin of Eastman School of Music (Friday) and Professor Kevin Fellezs of Columbia University (Saturday). Professor Marvin has written numerous articles on music cognition, music theory pedagogy, theory and analysis of atonal music, contour theory, history of theory, and analysis and performance. She is the co-author of three undergraduate music theory textbooks, including the W. W. Norton’s "A Musician’s Guide to Theory and Analysis." Professor Fellezs is the author of "Birds of Fire: Jazz, Rock, Funk and the Creation of Fusion" (Duke University Press). He will be releasing his new book "Listen But Don’t Ask Questions: Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar Across the TransPacific" (Duke University Press) in December 2019. He has also written articles and essays on jazz, popular music, and Asian American popular culture.

Please visit the conference URL( for submission instructions and other conference details.

With Best Wishes,

THEMUS Executive Board

Lydia Huang, Conference Chair
Matthew Kiple, President
Stephanie George, Vice-President
Emily DeWoolfson, Treasurer
Daniel Carsello, Secretary 

AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:

How to submit a post

Visit the AMS-Announce archive

TO UNSUBSCRIBE, switch to/from Digest mode, change your subscription address, etc.: log in and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce is a free service provided to the musicological community by the American Musicological Society.