The Dena Epstein Award for Archival and Library Research in American Music
was created in 1995 through a generous gift from Morton and Dena Epstein to
the Music Library Association. Requests are currently being accepted for
one or more grants to be awarded for the year 2021. The total amount of
funding available is $5,700. The decision of the Dena Epstein Award
Committee and the Board of Directors of the Music Library Association will
be announced at the MLA annual meeting which will be held March 3-7, 2021.

A grant may be awarded to support research in archives or libraries (both
nationally and internationally) on any aspect of American music. For
purposes of this award, “American music” is defined as music directly
relating to or that has some direct connection with the United States of
America. This year, in response to the Black Lives Matter movement, special
attention will be given to projects related to African-American/Black music

There are no restrictions as to applicant's age, nationality, profession,
or institutional affiliation. All proposals will be reviewed entirely based
on merit. Awards may be presented to an individual applicant or divided
among multiple applicants. At its discretion, the committee may choose not
to award a grant during any particular year. Unsuccessful first-time
applicants may resubmit a proposal for the same project up to two years
after their initial submission. An applicant may receive only one award for
any one project.

Applicants must submit the following documents:

   - A brief research proposal (under 5 pages) that includes:
   - a description of the project
      - a detailed budget for the project, indicating:
         - the amount of funding requested (capital purchases such as
         computer equipment and furniture are ineligible)
         - justification for the funding
         - additional sources of funding
      - a demonstration of how the applicant's research will contribute to
      the study and understanding of American music
      - an explanation of the relevance of the project to
      African-American/Black music, if applicable
   - A curriculum vitae
   - Two letters of support from librarians and/or scholars knowledgeable
   about American music

Applications should be submitted by e-mail attachment and must be in
Microsoft Word or PDF format. Please send required documentation to Laurie
Sampsel, Chair of the Dena Epstein Award Committee, at Laurie.Sampsel -at-

Deadline for application is 08/31/2020


AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:



TO UNSUBSCRIBE, or switch to/from Digest mode: log in to https://LISTSERV.UNL.EDU and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce: A service of the American Musicological Society,