Greetings AFEEMAIL,


Please find attached and below the Call for Nominations for the AFEE board elections.  AFEE board members serve three year terms starting the next calendar year after their election.  For this election, the terms of service would be 2021-2023, with participation in annual board meetings of January 2022, 2023, 2024.


Nominations should be sent directly to the chair of the committee:


Tae Hee Jo, Associate Professor at SUNY Buffalo State, [log in to unmask]




Eric Hake Sec/Treasurer



Association for Evolutionary Economics


2021 Board Elections – President-Elect and Board of Directors

The Nominating Committee welcomes your nominations for President-Elect and two members for the Board of Directors. Nominations should include a letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications, willingness to serve, and any other useful or relevant supporting documents such as a vita or additional letters of support. All nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Nominating Committee by August 14, 2020. The announcement of final nominees will be made to the general membership after approval by the Board of Directors. Elections will then be conducted under the direction of the Secretary of AFEE.

Nominating Committee Members (all terms end January 5, 2021)


Tae-Hee Jo, Chair, SUNY Buffalo State ([log in to unmask])

Associate Professor

Economics and Finance Dept.

1300 Elmwood Ave.

Buffalo, NY 14222 USA


Luke Petach, Belmont University ([log in to unmask])

Assistant Professor

Barbara Massey Hall 223

1900 Belmont Blvd

Nashville, TN 37212


Joshua Greenstein, Hobart & William Smith Colleges ([log in to unmask])

Assistant Professor of Economics

300 Pulteney Street

Geneva, NY 14456


Cheng Hao, Nanchang University ([log in to unmask])

Associate Professor of Finance

School of Economics & Management

No.999 Xuefu Avenue, Honggutan New District

Nanchang City, China


Eric Hake (D), Catawba College ([log in to unmask])

Professor of Economics

Ketner Hall 302

2300 W. Innes St.

Salisbury, NC 28144


T (Trustee)
D (Director)


*Bylaws Information (Article XI, Section 7)  7.1 The President of the Association shall appoint a Nominating Committee of five (5) members. In appointing a Nominating Committee, the President shall bear in mind the desirability of appointing members diversified by geographical location, field of specialization, gender, and race-ethnicity.


The purpose of the Nominating Committee is to nominate persons for all elective offices, including the office of Secretary-Treasurer. The names of the members of the Nominating Committee shall be made known to the membership in a timely manner.


7.2 The announcement of the composition of the committee shall be accompanied by a statement inviting suggestions from the membership for names of suitable candidates for office, and by the quotation of this section of the Bylaws. Nominations for each elective office shall be submitted by the Nominating Committee to the Secretary-Treasurer. The Board of Directors shall have authority to approve final nominations of the Nominating Committee.


7.3 The Nominating Committee shall submit to the Board of Directors for approval one (1) name for President-Elect; four (4) names for the two (2) positions to be filled annually on the Board; and two (2) names for the one (1) position of a member who is not a citizen of the United States, must reside outside the United States, and is to be filled every third year on the Board. Members of the Nominating Committee may not be nominated by the same Committee.


7.4 The Secretary-Treasurer shall announce agreed-upon nominations no later than August 15 to the general membership. The announcement shall be accompanied by the quotation of this section of the Bylaws. Additional nominations may be made by any member of the Association for any office if supported by a petition signed by twenty-five (25) members of the Association and received by the Secretary-Treasurer on or before September 15.


7.5 On or before November 1, the Secretary-Treasurer shall prepare a ballot for all members bearing the names agreed upon by the Nominating Committee and the Board of Directors, as well as the names of those nominated by petition, all to be accompanied by brief biographical sketches of the nominees. All votes returned by members of the Association shall be counted and tallied no later than December 1, on which date elections shall be deemed closed.

Eric R. Hake

Dean, Ralph W. Ketner School of Business
Elias B. Saleeby Professor of Economics
Secretary-Treasurer, Association For Evolutionary Economics
Faculty Advisor, SMIF

Scholarship.  Character.  Culture.  Service.

Admin B., 2300 W. Innes St. Salisbury, NC 28144-2441
704-637-4422 (fax)
[log in to unmask]