Non-NU Email

The MA in Musicology program at the University of Denver Lamont School of
Music offers students specializing in either musicology or ethnomusicology
the opportunity to explore historical, social, and analytical perspectives
on global musics. Students take courses on a broad range of topics and,
with the support of faculty mentorship, write a thesis that contributes to
the field on a topic of their choosing.

Students in the program receive a scholarship and stipend in exchange for
serving as graduate teaching assistants. These positions allow degree
candidates to gain teaching experience in undergraduate survey courses.

For admission requirements, links to faculty webpages, and other useful
information, please see the departmental website: 

The program also welcomes performer-scholars! We invite you to let your
performance experience inform your scholarship and vice versa. In addition
to the many other ensembles at the Lamont School of Music, the Musicology
and Ethnomusicology department is home to the following ensembles:

Bluegrass Ensemble
North Indian Classical Ensemble
The Spirituals Project Choir
Steel Drum Ensemble

Gillian Gower: Medieval and renaissance music, U.S. and U.K. popular music,
medievalism, music and gender, music and race, historiography, paleography,
digital humanities.
M. Roger Holland: Sacred music of the African American experience, Black
theology, choral music, composition, conducting. Director of the American
Heritage Chorale and the Spirituals Project Choir.
Sarah Morelli: Music and dance practices of South Asia and South Asian
American communities, Kathak dance, Hindustani music, embodiment,
improvisation, gender, transmission. Director of the North Indian Classical
Jack Sheinbaum: 19th-century music, popular music, interactions between
timbre and structure, music historiography.
Aleysia Whitmore: Music and cultural policy, community music making, music
and globalization, West Africa and Cuba. Spirituals Project Faculty

Affiliate Faculty
Ellwood Colahan
Chappell Kingsland
Jonathan Leathwood
Petra Meyer Frazier
Mitchell Ohriner
Kristin Taavola

Questions? Please contact Department Chair, Sarah Morelli, at sarah.morelli
-at- or Lamont Admission at music admission -at- You can
also call us at 303-871-6400.


AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:



TO UNSUBSCRIBE, or switch to/from Digest mode: log in to https://LISTSERV.UNL.EDU and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce: A service of the American Musicological Society,