Non-NU Email

We are pleased to announce that registration is open for the conference
“Music, Sound, and Trauma Studies: Interdisciplinary Perspectives,” taking
place virtually February 12-14, 2021. Hosted at Indiana University’s Jacobs
School of Music, and subsidized through an IU Presidential Arts &
Humanities grant, the conference is free and open to the public. This
conference brings together scholars from a variety of disciplines to
illuminate the current state of research on music and trauma, while also
generating rich discussion of further avenues of interdisciplinary inquiry,
activism, and collaboration. Featuring researchers from across the globe
working at the intersections of music scholarship, sound studies, history,
psychology, medical humanities, and other disciplines, this event centers
on addressing three main questions:

1) How can emerging knowledge from the humanistic discipline of trauma
studies shape music- and sound-oriented fields such as musicology,
ethnomusicology, music education, and sound studies?

2) How might music and sound studies research that engages with trauma
studies shape the landscape of research and teaching in the arts and
humanities more broadly?

3) Considering the many ways in which cultural trauma and social inequality
have historically been linked, how might interdisciplinary research and
pedagogy at the intersections of music, sound, and trauma inform knowledge,
policy, and practice geared towards social justice within and beyond the

Keynote presenters include:
Maria Hamilton Abegunde (Indiana University, US)
Laura Brown (Seattle, WA, US)
Maria Cizmic (University of South Florida, US)
Lucy Dhegrae (National Sawdust, Brooklyn, NY, US)
Pacifica Quartet (Indiana University, US) and Shulamit Ran (University of
Chicago, US)

For more information, including program, presenter, and registration
information, please visit  or email
musicsoundtraumaconf2021 – at – To access Zoom links for
conference sessions attendees must register for the conference.

Conference Organizers: Dr. Erin Brooks (SUNY-Potsdam), Jacqueline Fortier
(Indiana University), Dr. Michelle Meinhart (Trinity Laban Conservatory),
and Dr. Jillian Rogers (Indiana University)


AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:



TO UNSUBSCRIBE, or switch to/from Digest mode: log in to https://LISTSERV.UNL.EDU and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce: A service of the American Musicological Society,