Non-NU Email

The Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholar Award annually recognizes the best
bluegrass-related paper accepted by a juried academic conference during the
year. “Developing academic scholars” eligible for this award are defined as
graduate students in MA or PhD programs and recent PhDs (within five years
of degree completion). The award’s name honors Bluegrass Hall of Fame
member Neil V. Rosenberg, PhD, a noted bluegrass author and historian.

The deadline to be considered for the Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholarship Award
from the IBMA Foundation is Tuesday, June 30, 2021. The objective of this
award is to grow the academic awareness of bluegrass music by encouraging
developing academic scholars to present research of high quality to fellow
scholars on any aspect of the genre. The recipient of the Rosenberg
Bluegrass Scholar Award, to be announced in early August, will receive a
$500 honorarium plus admission to the next IBMA Business Conference and
Awards Show.

The first “IBMA Academic Prize” (as it was then known) was presented in
2011 to Benjamin Krakauer, who teaches now on the faculty of Warren Wilson
College. The IBMA Foundation took responsibility for the award in 2018,
renaming it in honor of Neil Rosenberg. The 2019 recipient was Jordan
Laney, PhD, at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Virginia. The Rosenberg Scholar
Award was not made in 2020, due to the cancellation of academic conferences
nationwide last spring.

Entries may be emailed to review committee chair Dr. Travis Stimeling at
Travis.Stimeling -at-, or mailed to him at 142 Ridgeley Road,
Morgantown, WV 26505, USA. For more information, please contact Dr.
Stimeling directly or info -at- 
< >


AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:



TO UNSUBSCRIBE, or switch to/from Digest mode: log in to https://LISTSERV.UNL.EDU and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce: A service of the American Musicological Society,