Print

Print


Non-NU Email

The Black Opera Research Network (BORN) is pleased to announce two online
panel discussions in June 2021.

Panel 1, ‘Charting “Black Opera”’ (17 June, 12pm EST / 5pm BST / 6pm CAT /
9am PDT):

In the second of its series of inaugural panels, BORN grapples with the
parameters of its own terms of reference. Taking as a starting point the
‘Black Opera Database’ created by BORN affiliates Allison Lewis and
Nicholas Newton, the conversation interrogates the politics of racial
categorization and generic classification.

Moderator:
Naomi André (USA)

Panelists:
Allison Lewis (USA)
Genevieve Arkle (UK)
Mandla Langa (South Africa)

Panel 2, ‘Opera, Commemoration, and the Racialized Politics of Place’ (23
June, 12pm EST / 5pm BST / 6pm CAT / 9am PDT):

16 June 1976: the Soweto Massacre, South Africa. 19 June 1865: the official
announcement of emancipation is made to enslaved people in Texas, USA. 22
June 1948: the disembarkation of 1,027 West Indian passengers from HMT
Empire Windrush in Tilbury, England.

Commemorating three events that happened in June, BORN draws together an
international panel of scholars and practitioners to discuss how Blackness
across the Atlantic has been articulated through protest and forced
relocation. Shirley Thompson, composer of *Memories in Mind: Women of the
Windrush*, Sipumzo Lucwaba, creator of *Imivumba Yamaqhawe: The Scars of
Our Heroes*, and Nicole Cabell, co-curator of Opera Theatre St. Louis’s *I
Dream a World* Juneteenth celebration, reflect on the individual and shared
legacies of Youth Day in South Africa, Juneteenth in the US, and Windrush
Day in the UK. Drawing on their own projects, the panellists ask what it
means to commemorate racialized oppression and liberation on the operatic
stage—a place that carries its own histories of segregation and exclusion.

Moderator:
Juliana M. Pistorius (South Africa/UK)

Panelists:
Nicole Cabell (USA)
Sipumzo Lucwaba (South Africa)
Shirley Thompson (UK)

Find further information, including participant bios and registration
details, on the BORN website: https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=http-3A__blackoperaresearch.net_planned-2Devents_&d=DwIFaQ&c=Cu5g146wZdoqVuKpTNsYHeFX_rg6kWhlkLF8Eft-wwo&r=PHu0YcldevQqIedM86l0iexbqE-AeZLl-lupNToNx6I&m=JcAw7Gl-1-BN819LUFxG9P3NIM5PtOx9dKW48oCgxK0&s=6Wvfa0DnhWul3NxaYfZgDj27CoyeWiLHbXHPDMkzTSE&e= .
We look forward to welcoming you to these exciting events!


_______________________________________________

AMS-Announce mailing list and bulletin board:

WANT TO SUBMIT A POST? See: http://www.amsmusicology.org/page/announce

TO SEE THE ARCHIVED POSTS: https://LISTSERV.UNL.EDU/cgi-bin/wa?A0=AMS-ANNOUNCE

TO UNSUBSCRIBE, or switch to/from Digest mode: log in to https://LISTSERV.UNL.EDU and edit your subscription.

AMS-Announce: A service of the American Musicological Society, www.amsmusicology.org